Baby Sparrow Update: One Has Died

Posted on July 3, 2011

1


Sad news to report. One of the baby sparrows died. I found it moments after I published my post about the house sparrow nestlings.

IMG_3284

IMG_3283

IMG_3286

It sounds like like there’s at least one left. I heard some peeps, but nothing like the loud chirps I’ve been hearing the past week or so. Will update later after I confirm everything seems OK there. Didn’t see either parents in the past little while either.

July 4, 2011 Update 1, 7:50 am: Strong chirps on Sunday afternoon and this morning. There’s probably just one baby sparrow remaining, unless two are always chirping in unison. The parents were busy feeding throughout Sunday. Will update again later.

July 6, 2011 Update: Strong chirps in the late afternoon. Not sure if I’m hearing two babies or a baby and a parent.

July 7, 2011 Update, 5:50 pm: Vigorous chirping. Definitely sounds like two baby birds or a baby and a parent.

July 14, 2011 Update, 11:20 am: I’m hoping the remaining baby bird(s) have flown the coup because I don’t think I’ve heard any chirping from the area of the nest in at least 2 days. And I haven’t seen the parents in a day or two, either. There was lots of vigorous chirping over the weekend. For a while I was concerned because I hadn’t seen Pops bringing food but I saw him earlier in the week. I haven’t been working at the table in front of the window much over the past few days so it’s possible I’ve missed some activity. Will update again at least twice, good or bad.

July 15, 2011 Update, 9:00 am: All remains quiet and I haven’t seen the parents tending the nest in the past 24 hours (although I was gone most of the day yesterday). According to the house sparrow entry on  All About Birds the nestling period for house sparrows is 10-14 days. This clutch probably hatched around June 30 so I’m going to be optimistic and believe that the remaining baby sparrow got its wings and has left the next. The timing would be right, based on when the chirping went silent. The chirping was so vigorous toward the end of last week that I can’t believe it was in any ill health.

Any further updates will be to a new post. I moved into the house in July last year and there was at least one large clutch born after that (I watched them get their wings). So it’s very possible there will be another clutch of baby sparrows before the breeding season ends.

Posted in: Animals, Birds, Nature