Ben Franklin Coffee House in Clinton, Missouri

Posted on July 5, 2011

1


In late July of last year I set off on a long drive from Alabama to Colorado and back. Whenever I take trips, I like to spend as much time as possible on the backroads. On my way home, I stopped off in Clinton, Missouri, to have lunch in the historic downtown area and was thrilled to discover the Ben Franklin Coffee House. How cool is that?!?

IMG_1997

I ordered the Ben Franklin, of course. Forgot to take a picture before digging in, but I did snap the menu.

IMG_1998

I also ordered a slice of chocolate cake which the waitress said was a house specialty. I think I got the last piece.
IMG_1999

They saw me taking pictures of menus and cakes and seemed a bit suspicious, so I explained that I intended to write a blog post about my visit. Better late than never!
IMG_2000

Downtown Clinton is a quaint area.

IMG_1990

IMG_1993

IMG_1992

Lots of statutes, monuments and markers. And, like most historic small towns nowadays, a mix of historic buildings and the 20th century make-a-buck real estate development. But they’ve done a good job of keeping the town square fairly historic.
IMG_1995

IMG_2002

IMG_1994

If you’re traveling through Missouri by car, I recommend you stop off in Clinton and visit the historic downtown. It’s a quick mile or two off the interstate. And you can avoid traditional fast food in favor of something local. Not sure if the Ben Franklin Coffee House & Bistro is still in business because the link to their website delivered a “server not found” error.

Clinton, Missouri official website

Posted in: Culture, Food, History, Travel