Fascinating Video of Burrowing Owl

Posted on July 15, 2011

0


I discovered this video clip of a burrowing owl on Vimeo earlier today. Don DesJardin is the videographer. It’s lovely. And it brought back such fond memories from my childhood.

Burrowing Owl from Don DesJardin on Vimeo.

My late grandmother Martin loved owls. Actually, she loved all of nature and she helped to instill in me a love of nature, animals and the outdoors. Martin (that’s what we called her) collected owl figurines, pictures and more. She once asked me to cross-stitch a pair of owls. We framed it and it’s now hanging in the laundry room at my parents’ home. At some point, Martin had received so many owl figurines as gifts that she said, “no more.”

Martin liked to drive her Ford pick-up truck out into the woods at dusk and listen to the evening sounds of nature. She had a portable cassette recorder that she’d take to record coyotes, owls, crickets and frogs. And the sounds of any other night creatures that might care to envelop us with their calls. I often accompanied her on these night visits into the woods. We would sit in silence for an hour or so, just listening.

After watching the burrowing owl video, and thinking about my grandmother, and then Harry Potter, I went looking for more owl videos by Mr. DesJardin and found this one of a Long-eared Owl roosting for the day.

Long-eared Owl from Don DesJardin on Vimeo.

I can’t wait to watch more of Mr. DesJardin’s videos. Birds are his specialty and the quality appears to be excellent. I just subscribed to his videos on Vimeo.

Posted in: Birds, Nature