Winfrey Farms at East Lake Farmers Market

Posted on July 21, 2011

2


IMG_3453

Winfrey Farms Produce at East Lake Farmers Market

Last Saturday I visited with Jeff Mott of Winfrey Farms. Winfrey Farms, located in Boaz, Alabama, sells a variety of wonderful produce at the East Lake Farmers Market in Birmingham.

So far this season, I’ve bought cabbage, cucumbers, onions, yellow pattypan squash, new potatoes and green beans from Winfrey Farms. That’s what I can think of. Every bit of it has been superb. The cabbage was the largest cabbage I’ve ever seen and only set me back $2. I gave half to my mom. We probably got four meals out of the cabbage.

Winfrey Farms grows their produce in raised beds using micro-irrigation. That accounts, at least in part, for the large size.

It’s also family-operation. Jeff is the son-in-law of Melvin Winfrey, senior proprietor. You’ll Mr. and Mrs. Winfrey, Jeff Mott and his wife and their son working at the booth. The youngest Mott (the young man I’ve seen–there may be more children) is a seasoned-veteran and has always been super-helpful and friendly whenever I’ve stopped by. I love to see kids helping out their parents and grandparents at the farmers market. There may be other family members and friends helping out, as well.

Winfrey Farms – Jeff Mott from Sheree Martin on Vimeo.

East Lake Farmers Market is held on Saturday mornings from 8 until noon in the parking lot of East Lake United Methodist Church.

IMG_3454

Winfrey Farms Produce at East Lake Farmers Market

IMG_3451

Jeff Mott shows off large onion grown on Winfrey Farms, Boaz, Alabama

IMG_3455

Watermelons and onions grown by Winfrey Farms.

IMG_3452

Corn grown by Winfrey Farms.

IMG_2966

Winfrey Farms Booth at East Lake Farmers Market

Links

East Lake Farmers Market Facebook Page

Related Posts

Posted in: Agriculture, Farming, Food