Kinlock Falls, Bankhead National Forest

Posted on July 24, 2011

1


After leaving the Kinlock Shelter, we hiked back to the parking area and drove a short distance to the Kinlock Falls on Hubbard Creek. This is a popular Lawrence County, Alabama tubing and swimming spot in the Bankhead National Forest. The Falls are within the Sipsey Wilderness, a 25,002-acre wilderness area within the Bankhead National Forest.

Kinlock Falls, Sipsey Wilderness, Bankhead from Sheree Martin on Vimeo.

IMG_3555If my video panning and shot selection seems a bit odd, it’s because I was trying to avoid getting any people in my shots. In addition to our group members (some of whom you can briefly see in the videos), quite a few locals were around, mostly below the falls.

IMG_3554

One of the highlights of my visit to the Kinlock Falls was this cluster of Tiger and Spicebush swallowtail butterflies.I had my nephew shoot some video from a large boulder in the middle of the creek.IMG_3551

Tiger & Spicebush Swallowtail Butterflies at Kinlock Falls from Sheree Martin on Vimeo.

To avoid having to look at trash and the locals who were swimming and tubing, Davis and I spent most of our time above the Falls splashing around in the quieter water of Hubbard Creek.

Hubbard Creek, Sipsey Wilderness, Bankhead from Sheree Martin on Vimeo.

The Kinlock Falls are a very short walk from a public road so they are easily accessible. I assume the easy access contributes to the trash and litter problem that put a damper on our enjoyment of this scenic spot. On the other hand, it seems to me that having a car within 50 feet would make it easier for the lazies to haul out their dirty diapers, snack food bags and 20 oz. plastic Mountain Dew bottles. I guess it all comes down to upbringing. Some people are simply too white-trash to care.

Trash at Kinlock Falls from Sheree Martin on Vimeo.

My guess is that the trash is less of a problem once the weather cools to the point that swimming and tubing are out of the question. I will return in the Fall to find out.

Related Posts

Hiking to Kinlock Shelter

Useful Links

IMG_3548

Posted in: Nature