Averiett Branch Farm: A Heritage Farm

Posted on July 26, 2011

0


One of the nicest things about hanging out at farmers markets is that you get to talk to the men and women who grow and raise your food. Over the past two months I’ve had several short (he’s always busy), but pleasant chats with John H. Wesson, current purveyor of Averiett Branch Farm in Sylacauga, Alabama.

John’s ancestors established Averiett Branch Farm in 1850. Seven generations of Averietts have farmed the land.

I’ve enjoyed several steaks from the Black Angus cattle raised on Averiett Branch Farm, and have two in my freezer right now, calling my name.

In addition to grassfed beef, John Wesson and his family raise Katahdin lamb and pigs in the natural way. The pigs get to root around, be pigs, and enjoy table scraps rather than stand in a pile of crap in a cramped stall. I haven’t yet tried their lamb or pork but it’s on my list.

Averiett Branch Farm is not all about meat, though.Depending on the season, they grow heirloom and hybrid tomatoes, okra, sweet corn, purple hull peas, lima beans, crowder peas, cucumbers, blueberries, squash, watermelon, cantaloupes, figs, eggplant and more.

According to the LocalHarvest listing, Averiett Branch Farm offers seasonal (20-week) garden shares. I didn’t ask John about that, so I’ll follow-up on that and post an update.

Averiett Branch Farm produce and meats are available at Pepper Place Saturday Market, each Saturday from 7 a.m. – 12 noon. Come early, their produce has been mostly sold-out by the time I’ve stopped by each week. I usually start at East Lake Farmers Market, so I don’t make it to Pepper Place until 10 or 10:30.

On July 16, I asked John Wesson to share a few words about Averiett Branch Farm. Here’s what he had to say:

Averiett Branch Farm – John Wesson from Sheree Martin on Vimeo.

Address

796 Old Sylacauga Hwy
Sylacauga, AL 35150
Phone: 256-404-4088
Email: ab.farms -at- hotmail.com
 

Related Posts

Oak Hill Angus: Grass-fed Black Angus Beef

Grilled T-bone Steak: Grassfed Beef & Grilled Veggies

My Food History: On Restaurants & Home-cooked Meals: The 1960s & 70s

I Don’t Eat Fast Food

Links

Lisa Hasen’s blog post about Averiet Branch Farm for Food Revival

Posted in: Agriculture, Farming, Food