Sparrow Updates: August 2011

Posted on August 7, 2011

0


Update, Tuesday morning, August 16, 2011: I had to go out of town for nearly a week but I was hearing vigorous chirps on Monday and Tuesday of last week, before I left. The chirps are even stronger this week. I returned Sunday evening and have heard the babies consistently since then. I’ve only seen the female bird returning to the nest for feedings, though. No sign of the male since I got back into town. At least two, maybe three baby sparrows should be about to get their wings.

Update, Sunday night, August 7, 2011: By mid-afternoon, I began to see a both male and female sparrow bringing insects to the next. Good news! There are at least two distinctive chirps emanating from the rafters.

Sunday, August 7, 2011, 8:45 a.m.

July 3, 2011

New chirps coming from the sparrow nest in the eaves above my covered patio. I first heard them yesterday morning but I’d first noticed a parent flying in for what appeared to be a feeding or nesting a few days ago.

I’ve been so preoccupied with my dog and other matters, that I haven’t been able to spend time birdwatching.

I’ve heard the chirps this morning, but they’re tiny. So far since 8 a.m., I’ve only seen a sparrow approach my patio once.

One thing that concerns ms is that I haven’t seen a male sparrow around, unless his markings are changing. The sparrow I Saturday afternoon coming in for feedings looked very much like the female. I’ve not seen either parent approach the railings and land regularly  (as they did earlier this summer, while they were busy feeding).

More updates later.

On a very positive note: I just spotted my first hummingbird of the season enjoy several visits to one of my hibiscus. I got about 30 seconds on video but I don’t have a zoom so there’s not a lot of detail.

Related Posts

Baby Sparrow Update

House Sparrows

Posted in: Birds, Nature