Sunday Sign: Roxy Theatre, Russellville, Alabama

Posted on August 21, 2011

1


This week’s Sunday Sign celebrates the Roxy Theatre in Russellville, Alabama:

The earliest movies I can remember seeing in a theatre are Georgy Girl and Bonnie & Clyde. My parents took me with them to see those movies when I was about 4 or 5 years old. Neither film is what you’d call a “kids flick.” I’m pretty sure I’m the only person who can say they saw both of those films at a theatre as a 4 or 5 year old.

The main thing I remembered about Georgy Girl was the theme song, which I still love. Bonnie & Clyde was a bit more memorable, mostly due to the graphic violence. In particular, I never forgot the scene where Blanche Barrow (played by Estelle Parsons, who won the Oscar® for Best Supporting Actress)  is shot in/around the eye. I finally saw Bonnie & Clyde again in the mid-1980s and have it on DVD now. I’ve watched Georgy Girl several times as an adult. I love Georgy Girl and Lynn Redgrave was perfect in the lead role.

I also saw The Gnome Mobile at the Roxy around the same time. Still my second favorite Disney movie (101 Dalmations is my favorite Disney movie, even though I didn’t see it until I was an adult). I didn’t believe in gnomes but I liked to imagine a gnome would magically appear whenever I was in the woods, which was often during my childhood years. Spending time among the great Redwood forests of the Pacific Northwest is near the top of my “bucket list.”

My hometown of Russellville, Alabama wrapped up the annual Watermelon Festival last night. I didn’t make it to the festival this year but there’s always lots of great music on Saturday afternoon and evenings. I hate that I missed it.

Official Trailer for Bonnie & Clyde:


Trailer for Georgy Girl:

The Gnome Mobile

Each Sunday, I post a photo of a historical marker or similar sign and share something about that place that makes it special. Links to my other Sunday Sign posts are here.

