Happy, Texas: Sunday Sign

Posted on October 2, 2011

2


Last year, I drove across Texas on my way to Colorado. I passed through the town of Happy, Texas not far from the Texas/New Mexico border.

I’d been driving for what seemed like forever through scrubby West Texas. It occurred to me that the original settlers probably named this place “Happy” as a marketing or psychological exercise.

Think Erik the Red and Greenland.

Not sure how successful the town fathers were with the name. Wikipedia says the 2000 census showed a population of 647 people, with 267 households and 182 families. Am I missing something or does this mean that some families have more than one household?

This bank sign is the only sign I found with the town name on it and I wasn’t about to turn around and go back to the town sign along the highway.

Town Motto: “The town without a frown.” How’s that for branding?

Apparently, there’s a film from 1999: Happy, Texas that’s set in the town. I haven’t seen the film. I don’t expect I will.

 

This post is part of a continuing weekly series on The Ben Franklin Follies: The Sunday Sign. Click on the tag: Sunday Sign to view other posts from this series.

Posted in: Travel