Gabby Giffords Steps Down

Posted on January 23, 2012

1


Very few people ever take a bullet to the head and those who do rarely survive. If Rep. Gabby Giffords’ response to such a senseless act of hate doesn’t inspire you, nothing will.

One year ago this month, my plane landed at Huntsville International Airport. I was returning home after a brief trip to Telluride, Colorado. We deplaned and were greeted by TV monitors tuned to CNN’s “Breaking News” about a horrific shooting in Arizona. I stopped to learn more.

I had never heard of Rep. Gabrielle Giffords before that moment, nor did I know anything about any of the other victims. But in the days, weeks and months to come, I learned of amazing acts of heroism and unselfish sacrifice by many to stop a madman.I learned of victims, young and old, whose lives were taken by the madman.

I won’t mention his name. He doesn’t deserve it.

And I learned more about the courage of Gabby Giffords.

This week, she steps down from Congress, but Congresswoman Gabrielle Giffords will never cease to inspire us to strive, overcome, prevail, regardless of the circumstances we may face.

Thank you, Congresswoman Giffords for your courage, grace and spirit.

 

Posted in: Self-Improvement